The Travelling Camera Club

It’s an amazing thing to hold something in your hand that you know has travelled across seas from a faceless stranger, that has seen amazing things, knowing that you are the last person to behold it before it finds home. This is why I found it hard to let go of the disposable camera sent to me from Austria as part of The Travelling Camera Club.

Photo by Georg

The idea is simple. A cheap disposable camera gets sent to one person, they take 5 photo’s, they send it to the next person, take 5 photo’s, and so on until there are no exposures left. The camera then gets sent back to headquarters, and the awesome Phil gets them developed and uploads them.

It’s really nice to see the contrast of photo’s taken by these different people, and getting a feel for their personality even though you’ve never met them. That’s what drew me into the idea of the Travelling Camera Club, and that’s why I joined.

The photo’s from the route that I was involved in have been developed, and are now online for everyone to see. Everyone involved in this route did a really amazing job, and I love all the photo’s. The last 4 photo’s were taken by me. I didn’t take 5 because I was already taking too long to post the camera back to Phil. I urge every person reading this to take a look at the club, and sign up.

Click here to see route 7’s photo’s!

I definitely think the effect a disposable camera has on these photo’s is really nice. What do you think of the photo’s?

Leave a comment